top of page

Awards and Honors

The Vigil Honor

The Vigil Honor is the highest recognition that a Lodge can bestow on its members. The award is meant to recognize Arrowmen who show leadership in service and have the potential to do great things. The Vigil Honor is a high mark of distinction and recognition for those Arrowmen who go above and beyond in their endeavors in Scouting and in the Lodge.

James E. West was appointed to the position of Chief Scout Executive in 1910 by the founding leadership of Scouting in America. West worked with Sir Robert Baden-Powell, Daniel Carter Beard, Ernest T. Seton, and many interested community leaders to give direction to the infant program of Boy Scouts of America. On January 2, 1911, West and others formed the National Council, B.S.A. Under his leadership over the next 33 years, Scouting grew and matured into the program we recognize and enjoy today. The James E. West Fellowship Award is bestowed on all individuals who donate at least $1,000 to the Endowment Fund. Since 2002, our Lodge has donated at least $1000 per year to the fellowship in the name of a Scouter who has shown exceptional service to the Scouting Program so that they may be awarded the James E. West Fellowship Award. In 2012, the National Office established that if a Lodge granted two James E. West Awards, one could be presented to an outstanding youth,

Founder's Award

The Founders' Award was created in 1981 to honor Arrowmen in the Order of the Arrow for unselfish service above and beyond their normal duties to their Lodge.  Our lodge can present up to 2 awards annually, and if two are presented, one must go to a youth under the age of 21. The award is reserved for those Arrowmen who memorialize in their everyday life, the spirit of achievement as described by founder E. Urner Goodman.

Lodge Awards

This award, which was established in 1985, is presented to the Arrowman who most, in the opinion of the Lodge Adviser in consultation with the Lodge Officers, exemplifies the outstanding qualities of initiative and leadership in service to others. The award is generally given once a year to one exceptional Arrowman. 

Lodge Adviser's Award


The Scoutmaster-of-the-Year Award is presented to a Scoutmaster who is active in Lodge Activities, and actively promotes Order of the Arrow program in their unit. Recipient is chosen based on merit and service toward the lodge.

The Distinguished Elangomat Award is presented to an Arrowmen who actively serves at an Elangomat, and cheerfully serves in the role. Presented on the same night is the Elangomat Service Award known as the "Black Sash"

Distinguished Elangomat

Outstanding Service

This award is presented to a family who has given an unforgettable level of service to the lodge, the Order, and Scouting as a whole. 

bottom of page